Neuroinflammation research group

01.06.2015 -

The goal of the Neuroinflammation research group is to understand inflammatory cell functions, especially those of microglia and astrocytes and mechanisms and mediators of inflammatory reactions in neurodegenerative diseases, especially Alzheimers disease and stroke. We use interdiciplinary approaches and human based models to find novel targets for modulation of neuroinflammation for the disease benefit.

We believe that proper engagement of beneficial microglial functions offers means to combat neurodegenerative diseases. Our research aims at finding not only disease specific but also common mechanism of neuroinflammation and how these can be taken advantage to modulate neuroinflammation for CNS benefit.

Research interests
• To form a functional fingerprint of microglia-neuron crosstalk in health and disease
• To identify secreted mediators of this intercellular crosstalk, such as EVs
• To identify how neuroinflammation is regulated at the level of non-conding RNAs
• To identify novel treatment strategies to modulate neuroinflammation for CNS benefit

We use novel, human-based models to find new therapeutic targets for the disease benefit and to discover novel biomarkers. We develop new human iPSC-based models including microglia and immunocompetent organoids and use living human brain tissue biopsies. We investigate cellular responses using various omics approaches at the single cell level, electrophysiology and microscopy techniques. In addition, we take advantage of animal modelling with functional outcomes. We utilize several both transgenic and surgically induced animal models of neurodegeneration, especially Alzheimer’s disease and stroke. We carry out research using APP/PS1 and 5XFAD mice to model Alzheimer’s disease and permanent and transient stroke models. The functional outcome is measured by using various behavioral tests with long term follow up time.
To find out more of our research, please visit:
https://sites.uef.fi/tarja-malm-group/research-details/
Tutkimusryhmän sivut

Avainsanat

Ajanjakso

01.06.2015 -

Ryhmän jäsenet - UEF

Muut ryhmän jäsenet

  • Anssi Pelkonen
    Anssi Pelkonen anssi.pelkonen@uef.fi
  • Anastasia Shakirzyanova
    Anastasia Shakirzyanova Anastasia.Shakirzyanova@uef.fi
  • Cristiana Pistono
    Cristiana Pistono cristiana.pistono@uef.fi
  • Olga Neustroeva
    Olga Neustroeva olga.neustroeva@uef.fi
  • Luca Giudice
    Luca Giudice luca.giudice@uef.fi
  • Mireia Gomez Budia
    Mireia Gomez Budia mireia.gomez.budia@uef.fi
  • Pamela Klecki
    Pamela Klecki pamela.klecki@uef.fi
  • Dilyara Nurkhametova
    Dilyara Nurkhametova dilyara.nurkhametova@uef.fi
  • Iveta Stanova
    Iveta Stanova iveta.stanova@uef.fi

Yhteistyökumppanit